Start 14-Day Trial Subscription

*No credit card required

Editorial Dept.'s picture

American Homebrewers Association Announces Winners of 2023 National Homebrew Competition

The AHA celebrated outstanding homemade beer, mead and cider in this prestigious event and awarded 120 medals in 40 categories during its annual Homebrew Con in San Diego.

American Homebrewers Association Announces Winners of 2023 National Homebrew Competition

The American Homebrewers Association® (AHA), a renowned national non-profit organization dedicated to promoting the art of homebrewing, unveiled the victors of the highly anticipated 2023 National Homebrew Competition (NHC) at the annual Homebrew Con™ conference in San Diego. This prestigious event awarded a total of 120 medals across 40 categories, recognizing exceptional homemade beer, mead and cider. Additionally, six major awards were granted, celebrating the pinnacle of brewing excellence.

As the largest platform for amateur homebrewers to exhibit their craftsmanship, innovation and passion for fermentation, the NHC has cemented its status as a global showcase for homebrewing talent. This year's competition attracted an impressive 4,335 entries from 1,708 homebrewers representing all 50 states, Washington, D.C., and 13 countries. Since its inception in 1979 in Boulder, Colo., the AHA National Homebrew Competition has meticulously evaluated a staggering total of 164,105 submissions.

The winners of the 2023 NHC displayed remarkable dedication, skill, and ingenuity, earning their accolades in a diverse array of beer, mead, and cider categories. Each medal awarded at the event represents the culmination of countless hours spent perfecting recipes, experimenting with flavors, and mastering brewing techniques.

Homebrewing enthusiasts and industry professionals alike eagerly awaited the announcement of this year's champions, as the NHC serves as a launchpad for emerging talent and a celebration of the thriving homebrewing community. The passion exhibited by these brewers fuels the continuous growth and innovation within the craft beer industry.

The American Homebrewers Association is committed to supporting and fostering the vibrant homebrewing community by providing resources, educational opportunities, and platforms to showcase the talents of passionate brewers. With each passing year, the NHC draws greater participation and raises the bar for excellence in homebrewing.

As the curtains close on the 2023 National Homebrew Competition, the anticipation for next year's event is already building. The AHA remains steadfast in its mission to advance the hobby of homebrewing and looks forward to continuing to inspire and elevate the craft in the years to come.


The winners of the most-entered categories were:

Category 3: Pilsner (211 entries)

GOLD: Jared Aumen | Ann Arbor, MI | Ann Arbor Brewers Guild | German Pils (5D)

SILVER: Robby Narquis | Richland, WA | New Zealand Pilsner (X5)

BRONZE: Gregory Rinehardt | Abingdon, VA | Stooges Brew Club | New Zealand Pilsner (X5)

Category 18: Hazy IPA (168 entries)

GOLD: Jon Dieter | Concord, OH | Brewly Homebrew Club| Hazy IPA (21C)

SILVER: Peter Cooke | Bridgewater, NJ | Garden State (GS) Homebrewers | Hazy IPA (21C)

BRONZE: David Howell | Springfield, MO | Them Beer Knobbers | Hazy IPA (21C)

Category 26: European Sour Ale (162 entries)

GOLD: Jeff Bair | Kansas City, MO | Lambic (23D)

SILVER: Joshua Cotton | Brooklyn, NY | New York City Homebrewers Guild | Berliner Weisse (23A)

BRONZE: Kevin Wojdak | Elk Grove Village, IL | Urban Knaves of Grain Homebrew Club

Category 14: Irish & British Stout (161 entries)

GOLD: Chris Hunter | Martinsville, IN | Artesian Homebrewers | Sweet Stout (16A)

SILVER: Richard Shoff | Baldwinsville, NY | Irish Stout (15B)

BRONZE: Christopher Johnson | San Diego, CA | QUAFF | Irish Extra Stout (15C)


In addition to category style awards, six major awards recognizing overall brewing excellence were presented. 

Homebrewer of the Year Award - Sponsored by Muntons

Recognizes the best-of-show beer judged from all gold medal winners in all beer categories.

John Heasley | Portland, OR | The Brewing Network

Cidermaker of the Year Award - Sponsored by Woodchuck Hard Cider

Recognizes the best-of-show cider judged from all gold medal winners in the cider categories.

James Werner | New Berlin, WI | Beer Barons of Milwaukee

Meadmaker of the Year Award - Sponsored by Redstone Meadery

Recognizes the best-of-show mead judged from all gold medal winners in the mead categories.

Shane Kammerer | Shawnee, KS | Kansas City Bier Meisters

Samuel Adams Ninkasi Award - Sponsored by Samuel Adams

Recognizes the entrant who accumulates the most points in the final round of competition.

Richard Shoff | Baldwinsville, NY

Gambrinus Club Award - Sponsored by Fermentis

Recognizes the club garnering the most final round points per total club entries.

New York City Homebrewers Guild | New York, NY

Homebrew Club of the Year Award - Sponsored by Briess Malt & Ingredients Co.

Awarded to the club accumulating the most total points in all categories of beer, mead, and cider in the final round of competition.

Kansas City Bier Meisters | Kansas City, KS

“The impressive quality of entries from this year's winners demonstrated immense dedication, innovation, and skill in the art of homebrewing. These creations captivated the taste buds of the judges, showcased a diverse range of flavors, and set the standard for excellence in fermentation,” said Chris Williams, competition director. “Congratulations to the 2023 National Homebrew Competition winners!”

A complete list of winners of the 2023 National Homebrew Competition can be found here.